Imperial Winter Series Race 2

By Lydia

I think cabin fever was setting in a little and I was just getting fed up of roller and turbo sessions,  so thought I’d give the legs a little test and have some fun at the Imperial Winter Series at Hillingdon on Boxing Day.

With only eight riders on the start line and it being windy (as always expected at Hillingdon!) I knew it would be hard to stay away from the bunch,  so my only tactics were to make the race as hard as I could for myself (and everyone else) and get some good training in.

I spent most of the race on the front or attacking. Emily Bagnall and I had a nice little break at the beginning of the race forcing the bunch to work hard and dropping the main bunch to six riders.  Keria McVitty kept the race entertaining with some nice attacks during the race.

With five laps to go the race still had six riders together and with nobody having any team mates to push on the pace everyone was setting themselves up for the final sprint finish.  Emily went early on the sprint, then Kimberly English dug in and went for the line. I tried to go with this but got boxed in by Keria McVitty coming up fast on my right, so I was forced to go the long way around. I only just pipped Keria on the line, a tight finish.

Close finish. Photo by Pauline English.

A video by John M from UK Cycle Sport.

More photos on UK Cycle Sport.

Results:

1st  Lydia Boylan Look Mum No Hands!
2nd  Keria McVitty Kings Cliffe Flyers
3rd  Kimberley English welwyn wheelers
4th  Emily Bagnall Wyndy Milla
5th  Jacky Gibbens London Dynamo
6th  Lydia Rodney Kingston Wheelers
7th  Katie Metalli Bristol Cycling development Squad
8th  Sally Stubbs Imperial Racing Team

The next and last ladies race of the Winter Series is on New Year’s Eve.

One thought on “Imperial Winter Series Race 2

Leave a Reply

