On Track for Nationals

My last track event before I head home to Dublin for Nationals was last weekend at Reading Velodrome, the 5th round of the National Omnium Series.

A week previous I got the entry list from the organiser and it had four of the Irish Development Squad on it! I had already raced against Ciara Horne, but had never heard of the other three. It would be a great chance to see how I faired against them before Nationals.

Throughout the whole day I preformed well. Always placing in the top 4 in each event. Sometimes consistency can pay off!! I was 2nd going in to the final event, the Points race.  I don’t think I raced it as tactically as I could have and came away with 3rd Place overall. Very pleased to podium again in a National Omnium.

Results:

1 Ciara Horne Irish Dev. Squad 14 points
2 Harriet Owen Motorpoint 20 points
3 Lydia Boylan Look Mum No Hands! 20 points

And I’m now in 2nd in the National Series!!

Only a week and a half now until I head home for Nationals and I’m getting more and more excited and pretty nervous! But I’m ready to give it my best shot!

One thought on “On Track for Nationals

Leave a Reply

