National Omnium Series Round 3: Dudley GP

Last Sunday Toby and I made the drive up to Dudley near Birmingham for Round 3 of the National Omnium Series.

Unfortunately Cheryl Owens was injured and didn't race but instead she took some amazing photos. Thank you Cheryl. And thanks to Iain Cook (VCL) for the loan of fancy wheels. They don't make it easier! And also thanks to Louise for the pursuit bars.

The Omnium consisted of the same 5 races as at Herne Hill. A 1 lap TT, a 20 lap scratch race, a 2km TT,  a sprint and finally a 20 lap points race. And as always, the competition was fierce. But I just about managed to hold my own and came away with 5th place overall.

My 400m TT went really well (after two restarts!!).. I did it in 33.1 sec. I felt fast and it was definitely a big improvement on last time. I placed 4th, 1.76 sec behind Janet. So still a way to improve if I want to challenge Janet.

Ciara Horne (Irish U23 Road Race Champ) made the scratch race unbelievably tough. I worked hard during this race, maybe too hard, and didn't have much left for the sprint but came in 5th. Photo from Cheryl Owens.

 

The 2km TT was up next. The one event I’ve trained the least for. But now that I’ve my own pointy hat, pursuit bars and borrowed a disc wheel and four spoke, I at least looked the part. Seven girls were faster than me…but I have to look at the improvements I am making. My time (2min 53sec) was much faster than the previous Omnium.

The sprint event, one of my favourites, is a difficult one. You have just two laps and one sprint to qualify for the finals. And you just never know how your heat is going to go. A Halesowen CC girl jumped early in my heat, I got on her wheel and as she eased I went around her, but with Ciara Horne on my wheel, who just pipped me on the line.  Coming 2nd put me in the sprint for 5th place. Again it was another close one, and a photo finish showed I was 3rd across the line. So I finished the sprint in 7th.

The Points race was the final race of the day. With some rearranging of the programme due to rain there was a long break after the sprint. I lost my head a little and just didn't have the legs to keep up. I finished 7th.

I realised after Sunday that the key to success is not only fitness and strength, but how tough and prepared you are mentally too. It is so hard to stay sharp and fully focused for each event. It’s so important to get your warm up *and* warm down right between each event. How long should I be on the rollers for, what should I be doing on the rollers?…etc. And I haven’t even got to the gear changes, wheel changes and handlebar changes yet. Ugh it’s exhausting just typing it! [I should probably point out now that my amazing Toby did most of these things for me. There’s absolutely no way I would have raced as well as I did without him there. Thank you, sweetie!!]

Results:

1. Janet Birkmyre      9 points
2. Ellie Coster            13 points
3. Ciara Horne           19 points
4. Marianne Britten  21 points
5. Lydia Boylan     31 points

I am now in 4th place overall in the Series.  So close to a National medal!!

Round 4 of the Omnium Series has been cancelled…so next up, it’s Reading on August 13th.

 

2 thoughts on “National Omnium Series Round 3: Dudley GP

  1. Great ride(s) Lydia!
    Lovely to have photos to illustrate the story too! (Something really lacking in my own blog!)

    Constant improvement could see you challenging for a series podium-place..wow!

    (How many more omnium’s left in the series now?)

    Good luck for the next one…

Leave a Reply

